Easing Back into Life after the Pandemic

Tara Wilken
7 min readMay 12, 2021

Might be harder than you thought

Photo by Chris Greene on Unsplash

Recently I attended a funeral.

It was the first time since everything shut down last year that I was around a “crowd” of approximately 60 people.

I was shocked how exhausted I was after. Like a 3 hour nap, exhausted.

Pre-Covid large groups and actual crowds were fairly regular in my life.

I’m an introvert by nature. However, I have a set of routines for before and after I’m around a lot of people.

But it didn’t matter for the funeral. It was like I walked in massively unprepared and that’s what surprised me the most.

If I hadn’t done my “normal” prep routine I would have expected to be more tired. But even then not to that level of exhaustion.

Which made me realize as we start going back to offices, attending social gatherings and events it’s going to take more of our energy than we expected.

I asked some women mental health experts their take on easing back into regular life routines.

And “why” it’s going to take time to get back to regular life again.

Because it is going to be an adjustment for most of us.

--

--

Tara Wilken

Well-Being Curator. Empowering high achievers with easy, practical self-care resources. So you can spend time with people who matter. https://www.tarawilken.com